9 Things You Should Know About Using Uber and Lyft in Florida
Ride-sharing services like Uber and Lyft are being used more every single day. We thought it might be a good idea to put together a list detailing what you need to know when it comes to using these services. Below you find the 9 Things You Should Know About Using Uber and Lyft in Florida:
1. Does Florida currently have regulations regarding ridesharing companies?
Florida lawmakers are currently moving two bills through Legislation to regulate ridesharing companies such as Uber and Lyft. The bills would provide laws ensuring all drivers have background checks and all companies have adequate insurance coverage for their drivers and passengers.
2. How does car insurance work for Uber and Lyft drivers?
Uber requires that all drivers have insurance on their cars, however, they also offer supplemental insurance. Uber’s insurance would kick in for drivers when their app is on and their personal insurance would provide coverage when the app is turned off. However, there are no current regulations on the amount of insurance coverage ridesharing companies must have in Florida.
3. How do ridesharing services such as Uber, Lyft or Sidecar work?
Ridesharing services work similar to the way taxi services work, but are utilized through a smartphone app. Rideshare drivers use their own vehicles to pick up passengers when they are alerted through the app.
4. Do Uber drivers have background checks?
Uber does complete background checks on drivers when they apply through a company called Checkr. The background check looks at the following records:
- County courthouse records for every county of residence for the last 7 years
- Federal courthouse records going back 7 years
- The multi-state criminal database going back 7 years
- Motor vehicle records
- Social Security Trace
- National Sex Offender Registry
5. If I use a ridesharing service, am I covered under the driver or service’s insurance?
Uber and some of the other ridesharing services have taken out insurance policies for as much as $1 million that now cover the driver and passenger in the event of an accident.
6. Can Uber be held liable for the actions of their drivers?
An important thing to know if you are using ridesharing services is that Uber drivers are not considered employees. Uber connects people with drivers, however they deny liability for the actions of their drivers since they are not employees.
7. What should I do if I get into an Uber car accident?
The first thing you should do is seek medical treatment, even if you do not feel injured. Whether you are the driver, the passenger or a third party in an Uber or Lyft car accident, you should contact an experienced auto accident attorney. Lawsuits regarding ridesharing services can be confusing since there are currently no regulations on these services.
8. What is the difference between taxi services and ridesharing services?
The biggest difference between taxi and ridesharing services is that drivers for Uber and Lyft are not considered employees. Also, most taxi services own their own vehicles. This means, in the event of an accident ridesharing services will often deny liability.
9. Can I sue Uber or Lyft for injuries I sustained in an accident?
Although the circumstances surrounding every accident are different, if the driver is at fault, you can sue both the rideshare service company and the driver for negligence.
If you have questions about an auto accident while using a ride-sharing service such as Uber or Lyft, it is important that you contact an experienced Brevard County Auto Accident Lawyer immediately. The preservation of evidence, opinions of expert witnesses, effective use of discovery and an immediate and thorough investigation of the accident scene are all vital to your claim.
At Charpentier Law Firm, we can help you obtain compensation for medical bills, future medical treatment, loss of wages, pain and suffering, etc. Fill out the contact form found on this page or call 321-308-8020 right now for your free consultation.
WE HAVE A HISTORY OF SUCCESS
IN BREVARD COUNTY
Over the past 40-plus years of helping Brevard County's injured and mistreated, our firm has obtained some $65 million in recoveries on behalf of our clients, highlighted by an $8 million product liability award in 2001.
The team at Charpentier Law Firm has the negotiation skills to reach favorable settlements in many cases, but also has the experience and perseverance to try a case to verdict whenever it is in the best interests of our clients. Our history of success illustrates our dedication to our clients and their pursuit of justice. Our personal injury attorneys in Melbourne, Titusville, and Cocoa are proud to offer superior legal representation to victims and their families throughout Brevard County and Central Florida.